1600 16v long term project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1600 16v long term project

I have been building this car on and off for about 8 years now with no end in sight for the near future either! I recently found some photos of how it looked when I bought it so thought I'd throw a project thread together, unfortunately there are some photos missing but you get the idea.

Anyway, how it looked when I bought her, a £50 minter

A few of the many scars of tin worm

The first of many replacement panel deliveries

Then began the long job of cutting out rust and replacing, I almost threw in the towel after months of this

At first my plan was to restore the mini to close to factory, I then thought that was too boring so the next plan was to build it with a few mods/fast road parts with a moderately tuned A series. I refurbished the subframes and began rebuilding.

After a break from working on it I needed some motivation, so after lurking in this forum for awhile I decided I would build a valver for track days & hillclimbs. So off came the front subframe and fabbed up a couple of bulkhead boxes

Went with a brand new Allspeed subframe, gave it a coat of hammerrite and transferred over the brakes, hubs etc from the old frame

Comment

Engine wise I wanted to go with a C16XE as I have rebuilt and played about with these engines in the past. Unfortunately when I was looking for one I could not get one for love nor money so landed up with a x16xe which I proceeded to strip down.

Looks like this was previously owned by someone scared of the loud pedal

Block cleaned, re-honed & skimmed along with standard pistons pocketed for high lift cams

Rebuilt with new shells and ARP big end bolts

Managed to get a hold of a C16XE ported and polished head with new valve train

Head & block built up with Newman cams which were then dialled in

Bought a small alternator off a Suzuki or dihatsu, the pulley was damaged on arrival though