Kiwi B series build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kiwi B series build

Have been building for awhile, should have put up a build sooner but never mind.

Decided on a b16 as they are cheaper and more common.

Just getting my head around the system - 'dammit jim I'm a engineer not a computer tech'
    Attached Files

Frame consists of 1 1/2'' 80 thou wall chrome moly tube running front to rear to stiffen up the guts, going up through the firewall at 4 points to make up the frame you can see.

Is built into the shell and consists of no subframe.

The engine/gearbox is removable from out the top of the engine bay, with having the RH gearbox mount detachable from the frame to give the extra clearance required to get out such a large lump.

Comment

A huge thanks to wanago for the wiring help.

About 50 hours to fully trace and chop wiring, I'm running mini loom as I want to keep mini switches etc.

Two wires join the two looms together, first startup a success.
      Attached Files

Comment

Have since rebuilt the engine, it didn't really need doing but its nice to know what you've got, plus it wasn't hard at all just a few critical measurements and notes to make, but otherwise not bad.

Head and manifold port matched and cleaned up, quite a step at the valve seats worth blending in.

Other than that a compression rise, arp bolts throughout and head studs not bolts installed.
        Attached Files

Comment

Balljoint extensions are machined and fitted.

For easy maintenance I decided to position the top/bottom arm pivots further apart to give some more room.

They screw onto hub with locktab underneath to secure them to hub, and then the top is a dulicate to that of the machining on the hub to fit the balljoint components into, so then the balljoints screw onto the extension.
          Attached Files

Comment

So have you submitted drawings/gained approval for these?

Cheers
            www.eclipseengineering.co.nz

Comment